user icon

Users

Version: latest

Users view provides the ability to add, remove and edit users. To access this view, first select the User Management item from the main menu and then from the sub-menu select Users.

users menu

Adding a new user

users add new

To add a new user, first click on the Add New User button, which will open the form to add user information.

users add new form

Full Name

  • On the Add New User form first specify a full name (1) for the user to be added.

Email

  • Then the email (2) can be added. Note that email needs to be used when the added user logs in. Further once user is added he/she will be sent a confirmation email and the user must set a password via a link provided in that email.

User Groups

  • In the user groups section (3), there will be a list of existing user groups. Select the user groups that you would like for this user to belong to. Note that the newly created user will inherit all the permissions of the roles in the assigned user groups.

Users list

All the users added as explained above are listed in the users list. This tabular view displays the below information of each user in addition to a set of action buttons.

users list

Email (1)

The email of the user

Full Name (2)

Full name of the user

Status (3)

The status of the user account is shown here. Just after the user is created the status will be Email not verified. When the newly added user verifies the account by clicking the verification link sent to his/her email the status will be changed to Created. Then at the first time user logs in the status will change to Active. If an admin deactivates a user account, then the new state will be Disabled. If an account is reactivated, the status will go to either, Active or Email not verified depending the state the account at the time of deactivation.

User Groups (4)

List of user groups for which the user belongs to.

The action buttons provide the following functionality for each user.

Edit (5)

Can be used to modify an existing user. Clicking on this button will take you to Edit User view, which is almost the same form that was used to add a new user, with values already filled except for the password field. There you can modify the full name and the user groups for which this user belongs to. Once editing is done you can click the Save button to save the modifications. Note that in the Disabled state, a user cannot login using those credentials.

Disable/Enable (6)

Can be used to disable/enable an existing user account. When this button is clicked, you will get a confirmation dialog and the user account will be disabled/enabled once confirmed.

Remove (7)

Can be used to remove an existing user account. When this button is clicked, you will get a confirmation dialog and the user account will be removed once confirmed.

In addition to the above, the search box (8) can be used to search user roles based on email and full name. Further the refresh button (9) can be used to refresh the table data.

In this topic
In this topic